Table of Contents

Search

  1. Preface
  2. Analyst Service
  3. Content Management Service
  4. Data Integration Service
  5. Data Integration Service Architecture
  6. Data Integration Service Management
  7. Data Integration Service Grid
  8. Data Integration Service Applications
  9. Metadata Manager Service
  10. Model Repository Service
  11. PowerCenter Integration Service
  12. PowerCenter Integration Service Architecture
  13. High Availability for the PowerCenter Integration Service
  14. PowerCenter Repository Service
  15. PowerCenter Repository Management
  16. PowerExchange Listener Service
  17. PowerExchange Logger Service
  18. SAP BW Service
  19. Search Service
  20. System Services
  21. Test Data Manager Service
  22. Web Services Hub
  23. Application Service Upgrade
  24. Application Service Databases
  25. Connecting to Databases from Windows
  26. Connecting to Databases from UNIX
  27. Updating the DynamicSections Parameter of a DB2 Database

Backing Up and Restoring the PowerCenter Repository

Backing Up and Restoring the PowerCenter Repository

Regularly back up repositories to prevent data loss due to hardware or software problems. When you back up a repository, the PowerCenter Repository Service saves the repository in a binary file, including the repository objects, connection information, and code page information. If you need to recover the repository, you can restore the content of the repository from this binary file.
If you back up a repository that has operating system profiles assigned to folders, the PowerCenter Repository Service does not back up the folder assignments. After you restore the repository, you must assign the operating system profiles to the folders.
Before you back up a repository and restore it in a different domain, verify that users and groups with privileges for the source PowerCenter Repository Service exist in the target domain. The Service Manager periodically synchronizes the list of users and groups in the repository with the users and groups in the domain configuration database. During synchronization, users and groups that do not exist in the target domain are deleted from the repository.
You can use
infacmd
to export users and groups from the source domain and import them into the target domain.