You can enable, disable, or recycle the Model Repository Service. You might disable the service to perform maintenance or to temporarily restrict users from accessing the Model Repository Service or Model repository. You might recycle the service if you changed a service property.
You must enable the Model Repository Service to perform the following tasks in the Administrator tool:
Create, back up, restore, delete, or upgrade Model repository content.
Create and delete the Model repository search index.
Manage permissions on the Model repository.
Synchronize the Model repository with a version control system.
When you enable the Model Repository Service, the machine on which the service runs requires at least 750 MB of free memory. If enough free memory is not available, the service might fail to start.
When you enable a Model Repository Service that runs on a single node, a service process starts on the node. When you enable a Model Repository Service configured to run on primary and back-up nodes, a service process is available to run on each node, but it might not start. For example, you have the high availability option and you configure a Model Repository Service to run on a primary node and two back-up nodes. You enable the Model Repository Service, which enables a service process on each of the three nodes. A single process runs on the primary node, and the other processes on the back-up nodes maintain standby status.
When you disable the Model Repository Service, you shut down the Model Repository Service and disable all service processes.
When you disable the Model Repository Service, you must choose the mode to disable it in. You can choose one of the following options:
Complete. Allows the service operations to run to completion before disabling the service.
Abort. Tries to stop all service operations before aborting them and disabling the service.
When you recycle the Model Repository Service, the Service Manager restarts the Model Repository Service.