Regularly back up repositories to prevent data loss due to hardware or software problems. When you back up a repository, the PowerCenter Repository Service saves the repository in a binary file, including the repository objects, connection information, and code page information. If you need to recover the repository, you can restore the content of the repository from this binary file.
If you back up a repository that has operating system profiles assigned to folders, the PowerCenter Repository Service does not back up the folder assignments. After you restore the repository, you must assign the operating system profiles to the folders.
Before you back up a repository and restore it in a different domain, verify that users and groups with privileges for the source PowerCenter Repository Service exist in the target domain. The Service Manager periodically synchronizes the list of users and groups in the repository with the users and groups in the domain configuration database. During synchronization, users and groups that do not exist in the target domain are deleted from the repository.
You can use
to export users and groups from the source domain and import them into the target domain.