If the Developer tool or the Analyst tool shuts down, or if the Model repository becomes unavailable, objects retain locks. After the Model repository becomes available, you can view locked objects and unlock them.
You might want to unlock objects if the user who locked them is unavailable and another user is assigned to edit them.
You can perform the following operations:
List locked objects.
You can list the objects that are locked in the Model repository. You can filter the list by the time that a user locked the object. You might want to do this to identify the developers working on each object.
Unlock an object.
You can unlock any object that is locked in the Model repository.
When you unlock a locked object that a user edited, the changes are lost.