Table of Contents

Search

  1. Preface
  2. Workflow Manager
  3. Workflows and Worklets
  4. Sessions
  5. Session Configuration Object
  6. Tasks
  7. Sources
  8. Targets
  9. Connection Objects
  10. Validation
  11. Scheduling and Running Workflows
  12. Sending Email
  13. Workflow Monitor
  14. Workflow Monitor Details
  15. Session and Workflow Logs
  16. POWERCENTERHELP
  17. Session Properties Reference
  18. Workflow Properties Reference

Workflow Schedules

Workflow Schedules

You can schedule a workflow to run continuously, repeat at a given time or interval, or you can manually start a workflow. Each workflow has an associated scheduler. A scheduler is a repository object that contains a set of schedule settings. You can create a non-reusable scheduler for the workflow. Or, you can create a reusable scheduler to use the same set of schedule settings for workflows in the folder.
You can change the schedule settings by editing the scheduler. By default, the workflow runs on demand. If you change schedule settings, the Integration Service reschedules the workflow according to the new settings. The Integration Service runs a scheduled workflow as configured. The Workflow Manager marks a workflow invalid if you delete the scheduler associated with the workflow.
If you configure multiple instances of a workflow, and you schedule the workflow run time, the Integration Service runs all instances at the scheduled time. You cannot schedule workflow instances to run at different times.
If you choose a different Integration Service for the workflow or restart the Integration Service, it reschedules all workflows. This includes workflows that are scheduled to run continuously but whose start time has passed and workflows that are scheduled to run continuously but were unscheduled. You must reschedule a workflow if the start time has passed and the workflow is not scheduled to run continuously.
If you delete a folder, the Integration Service removes workflows from the schedule when it receives notification from the Repository Service. If you copy a folder into a repository, the Integration Service reschedules all workflows in the folder when it receives the notification.
The Integration Service does
not
run the workflow in the following situations:
  • The prior workflow run fails.
    When a workflow fails, the Integration Service removes the workflow from the schedule, and you must manually reschedule it. You can reschedule the workflow in the Workflow Manager or using
    pmcmd
    .
  • The Integration Service process fails during a prior workflow run.
    When the Integration Services process fails in a highly available domain and a running workflow is not configured for recovery, the Integration Service removes the workflow from the schedule. You can reschedule the workflow in the Workflow Manager or using
    pmcmd
    .
  • You remove the workflow from the schedule.
    You can remove the workflow from the schedule in the Workflow Manager or using
    pmcmd
    .
  • The Integration Service is running in safe mode.
    In safe mode, the Integration Service does not run scheduled workflows, including workflows scheduled to run continuously or run on service initialization. When you enable the Integration Service in normal mode, the Integration Service runs the scheduled workflows.
The Integration Service schedules the workflow in the time zone of the Integration Service node. For example, the PowerCenter Client is in the local time zone and the Integration Service is in a time zone two hours later. If you schedule the workflow to start at 9 a.m., it starts at 9 a.m. in the time zone of the Integration Service node and 7 a.m. local time.