Table of Contents


  1. Preface
  2. Using the Designer
  3. Working with Sources
  4. Working with Flat Files
  5. Working with Targets
  6. Mappings
  7. Mapplets
  8. Mapping Parameters and Variables
  9. Working with User-Defined Functions
  10. Using the Debugger
  11. Viewing Data Lineage
  12. Comparing Objects
  13. Managing Business Components
  14. Creating Cubes and Dimensions
  15. Using the Mapping Wizards
  17. Datatype Reference
  18. Configure the Web Browser



When you review the contents of the Columns tab in a COBOL source, you see several levels of columns. These levels represent the separate record sets contained within a single COBOL source.
For example, the following COBOL source contains a nested record set, HST_MTH. Each record set begins with a level 5 heading, indicating the beginning of the record. The columns within each record set must all be at the same level beneath the record heading. For example, the record set HST_MTH contains several columns, starting with HST_ACCR_REM. An OCCURS setting of 24 indicates that, when you review the data in this COBOL source, each record contains 24 nested records for HST_MTH.
The following figure shows a sample COBOL source definition with an OCCURS setting of 4:
The SUPPLIER_INFO column has an OCCURS setting of 4.
All of the columns in HST_MTH are at the same level, 7, in this COBOL source. The heading for the record HST_MTH is at level 5, two levels above the columns in that source.

Updated June 25, 2018