Table of Contents

Search

  1. Preface
  2. Using the Designer
  3. Working with Sources
  4. Working with Flat Files
  5. Working with Targets
  6. Mappings
  7. Mapplets
  8. Mapping Parameters and Variables
  9. Working with User-Defined Functions
  10. Using the Debugger
  11. Viewing Data Lineage
  12. Comparing Objects
  13. Managing Business Components
  14. Creating Cubes and Dimensions
  15. Using the Mapping Wizards
  16. Datatype Reference
  17. Configure the Web Browser

Configuring General Options

Configuring General Options

You can configure general options for the Navigator window, the Display window, and directories.
To configure general options:
  1. Click Tools > Options.
  2. Click the General tab.
  3. You can configure the following general options:
    General Option
    Description
    Reload Tables/Mappings when Opening a Folder
    Reloads the last view of a tool when you open it. For example, if you have a mapping open when you disconnect from a repository, the mapping displays the next time you open the folder and the Mapping Designer.
    Ask Whether to Reload the Tables/Mappings
    Appears only when you select Reload Tables/Mappings when Opening a Folder. Select to have the Designer prompt you to reload objects each time you open a folder.
    Display Tool Names on Views
    Displays the name of the tool in the upper left corner of the workspace or workbook.
    Delay Overview Window Pans
    By default, when you drag the focus of the Overview window, the focus of the workbook moves concurrently. When you select this option, the focus of the workspace does not change until you release the mouse button.
    Receive Notifications from Repository Service
    You can receive notification messages in the Designer and view them in the Output window. Notification messages include information about objects that another user creates, modifies, or deletes. You receive notifications about mappings, mapplets, shortcuts, source definitions, target definitions, and transformations. The Repository Service notifies you of the changes so you know that objects you are working with may be out of date. For the Designer to receive a notification, the folder containing the object must be open in the Navigator. For the Designer to receive notification of a modified or deleted object, the object must be open in the workspace. You also receive user-created notifications that are posted by the user who manages the Repository Service. Default is enabled.
    Save All MX Data
    Saves all MX data when you save mappings in the Designer. Select this option to use MX views for third-party repository tools.
    When you save MX data for mappings, PowerCenter creates a field expression for each target field in the mappings. These expressions are different from the transformation expressions that you create in the Expression Editor.
    You must save and check in the mapping before you can access the MX data.
    Default is disabled.
    Saving MX data can impact repository performance. Use this option only when you want to use MX views.
    Save Only Source/Target Dependencies
    Saves only dependency-related MX data when you save mappings in the Designer. Select this option if you do not need to view expressions of fields in MX views, but you use the Repository Manager to view source/target dependencies. Default is disabled.
    Group Source by Database
    Displays sources grouped by database in the Navigator. Otherwise, sources appear in alphabetic order by source name, with the database name in parentheses.
    Display Sources Using Business Names
    Displays sources by business names in the Navigator. If you enable the option to display sources by business names, the Navigator displays the business names first, and then the source type name and table name in parentheses.
    Display Targets Using Business Names
    Displays targets by business names in the Navigator. If you enable the option to display targets by business names, the Navigator displays the business names first, then the target type name and table name in parentheses.
    Workspace File
    The directory for workspace files that are created by the Designer. Workspace files maintain the last source or target that you opened, or the last mapping that you saved. This directory should be a local directory to prevent file corruption or overwrites by multiple users. By default, the Designer creates files in the installation directory.
    HTML Documentation Path or URL
    HTML or URL path to enter links to business documentation.


Updated July 02, 2020