If you have the team-based development option, you can enable version control for a repository. A versioned repository can store multiple versions of an object. After you enable version control for a repository, you cannot disable it.
When you enable version control, you can maintain multiple versions of an object in the repository. This increases the size of the repository and may contain versions of the objects that my no longer be relevant. You must delete old versions or purged objects from the repository to reduce the size of the repository. You can use the repository queries in the client tools to create queries that can determine outdated versions and objects for deletion. Use the Query Browser to run object queries on both versioned and non-versioned repositories.
Old versions and objects increases the size of the repository and make it difficult to manage the repository further into the development cycle. Cleaning up the folders makes it easier to determine what is valid and what is not required.
Use shortcuts by creating shared folders if you are using the same source or target definition, reusable transformations in multiple folders.