PowerCenter Repository Maintenance

PowerCenter Repository Maintenance

Purging Versions Based on Criteria

Purging Versions Based on Criteria

In the Repository Manager, you can purge object versions based on criteria. This type of purge is called an advanced purge. You can purge object versions at the repository, folder, or object level.
When you purge versions based on criteria, you can perform the following tasks:
  • Purge versions of deleted objects.
    Purge versions of checked-in deleted objects to permanently remove the versions from the repository. You can purge all checked-in deleted objects, or you can purge objects that were deleted before a specified date. When you purge deleted objects, you purge all versions of the objects.
  • Purge versions of active objects.
    Purge specified checked-in versions of active objects. Active objects are undeleted objects and deleted objects that are not checked in. When you purge versions of active objects, you specify the number of versions to keep, a purge cutoff time, or both. If you specify a number of versions to keep and a purge cutoff time, you purge versions that meet both conditions.
  • Preview versions before purging.
    Before you purge versions based on criteria, you can preview the purge results to verify that the purge criteria produces the expected results.
When you purge versions based on criteria, you cannot purge a dependent object version if it is used in an unpurged composite object.
The following table describes the options in the Advanced Purge window:
Option
Description
Purge Deleted Objects
Purges versions of checked-in deleted objects. Select All to purge versions of all deleted objects in a repository or folder, or select Older Than to purge versions of objects deleted before an end time. You can specify the end time either as the number of days before the current date or in MM/DD/YYYY HH24:MI:SS format.
Purge Active Objects
Purges specified versions of active objects. Select Older Than the Last
n
Versions to specify the number of latest checked-in versions to keep. For example, select 6 to purge all versions except the last six checked-in versions. If the object is checked out, you also retain the checked-out version. Select Older Than and specify a number of days or a date and time to purge versions that were checked in before a specified time.
Save Purge List
Output file to save information about purged object versions. Default is disabled.
Summary Only
Saves summary information in the purge output file and displays summary information in purge previews. Disable to view detailed information about each object version. Default is enabled.
The amount of time that the Repository Service takes to purge versions depends on the size of the repository, the number of deleted and old objects, and the composite objects that are affected. For optimal performance, purge at the folder level or use purge criteria to reduce the number of purged object versions. Avoid purging all deleted objects or all older versions at the repository level.
  1. In the Navigator, select a repository to purge versions at the repository level.
    Or, select a folder to purge versions from the folder.
    You can also select one or more objects to purge objects based on criteria.
    You can also use the View History window or the Query Results window to purge based on criteria. Select one or more objects in the window, and click Tools > Advanced Purge.
  2. Click Versioning > Advanced Purge.
    Alternatively, right-click the repository or folder and select Advanced Purge, or right-click the selected objects and click Versioning > Advanced Purge.
  3. To purge deleted objects, select Deleted Objects, and then specify whether to purge all deleted objects or objects deleted before an end date.
    Or, to purge active objects, select Active Objects, and then specify the versions to keep, the purge cutoff, or both. After you purge an object version, you cannot retrieve it. To ensure that you can revert to past versions, avoid purging all versions of an object.
  4. Optionally, click Save Purge List to create an output file for the purge information.
  5. Optionally, choose to view and save summary information instead of detailed purge information.
  6. Optionally, click Preview to preview the purge.
  7. Click Purge to purge the deleted objects.
    When you use an advanced purge to purge deleted objects, you purge all versions of the objects. To keep recent versions of deleted objects and purge older versions, define a query that returns the deleted objects. Then, use the
    pmrep
    PurgeVersion command with the -q option to retrieve the deleted objects and specify the versions to purge.