PowerCenter Repository Maintenance

PowerCenter Repository Maintenance

Truncating Workflow and Session Log Entries

Truncating Workflow and Session Log Entries

When you configure a session or workflow to archive session logs or workflow logs, the Integration Service saves those logs in local directories. The repository also creates an entry for each saved workflow log and session log. If you move or delete a session log or workflow log from the workflow log directory or session log directory, you can remove the entries from the repository.
Use the Repository Manager to truncate the list of workflow logs for workflows that have completed. You can also use the
pmrep
TruncateLog command to truncate workflow logs.
You can truncate all log entries for a workflow or log entries that were created before a specified date. You cannot truncate a workflow log for a workflow that is still running. The Repository Service truncates the workflow log list and the session log list at the same time.
When the Repository Service truncates log entries for sessions and workflows, it also deletes the following run-time information for the sessions and workflows:
  • Workflow details
  • Session statistics
  • Task details
  • Source and target statistics
  • Partition details
  • Performance details
    You can truncate log entries to reduce the size of the repository in the database. The log entries can use a significant amount of space in the repository.
When you truncate log entries from a Microsoft SQL Server repository, verify that no workflow is running. If you truncate log entries when a workflow is running, the workflow fails.
To truncate workflow and session log entries:
  1. In the Repository Manager, select the workflow in the Navigator window or in the Main window.
  2. Choose Edit > Truncate Log.
    The Truncate Workflow Log dialog box appears.
  3. Choose to delete all workflow and session log entries or to delete all workflow and session log entries with an end time before a particular date.
  4. If you want to delete all entries older than a certain date, enter the date and time.
  5. Click OK.
    The Repository Service deletes the workflow and session log entries from the repository.