A role is a collection of privileges that you can assign to users and groups. To ensure that every user can access assets and perform tasks in your organization, assign at least one role to each user or user group.
A role defines the privileges for different types of assets and service features. For example, users with the Designer role can create, read, update, delete, and set permissions on most types of data integration assets. However, they have no access to certain
service features such as sub-organizations and audit logs.
Administrators can configure and assign roles for the organization.
You can assign the following types of roles:
System-defined roles are pre-defined roles that define access privileges for the services that your organization uses. The system-defined roles that you can assign to users and groups vary based on your organization's licenses. You cannot edit, rename, or delete system-defined roles. You can clone system-defined roles except for the Admin role.
Custom roles are roles that you create to set privileges individually. To create custom roles, you need the appropriate license. You can edit, clone, rename, and delete custom roles.
You can view both system-defined and custom roles on the
page displays a list of all roles in the organization. To access the
The following image shows the
The Status column indicates whether the role is enabled or disabled for your organization. A role is disabled when the license expires.
You can assign multiple roles to a user or user group. When you assign multiple roles, the user or group inherits the access privileges associated with all of the roles.