Table of Contents

Search

  1. Preface
  2. Workflow Manager
  3. Workflows and Worklets
  4. Sessions
  5. Session Configuration Object
  6. Tasks
  7. Sources
  8. Targets
  9. Connection Objects
  10. Validation
  11. Scheduling and Running Workflows
  12. Sending Email
  13. Workflow Monitor
  14. Workflow Monitor Details
  15. Session and Workflow Logs
  16. Session Properties Reference
  17. Workflow Properties Reference

Scheduled States

Scheduled States

The scheduled state of a workflow includes historical run-time information such as the last time the workflow ran and how many times a repeating workflow has run. A workflow can get removed from the schedule based on changes to the workflow status or the Integration Service state.
When a workflow is removed from the schedule, the Integration Service either discards or maintains the scheduled state. If the Integration Service discards the scheduled state, it resets the state when the workflow is rescheduled. If the Integration Service maintains the scheduled state, it restores the state when the workflow is rescheduled.
When the Integration Service resets the scheduled state, it maintains the scheduler configuration. It does not check for missed schedules, and it schedules the workflow as though the workflow never ran. For example, you configure a workflow to run five times, and it stops during the second run. When you reschedule the workflow, the Integration Service resets the schedule to run five times.
The Integration Service can restore the scheduled state of a workflow in a highly available environment when it successfully recovers a terminated workflow or when you restart a workflow. When the Integration Service restores the scheduled state, it reschedules the workflow based on the scheduler configuration and the schedule frequency.
The Integration Service maintains or discards the scheduled state based on the following situations:
You disable a workflow.
When you enable a workflow, the Integration Service resets the schedule.
You remove a workflow from the schedule.
When you reschedule a workflow, the Integration Service resets the schedule.
You change the schedule settings.
The Integration Service reschedules the workflow according to the updated settings. If you change a schedule that is configured to run at repeated intervals, the Integration Service resets the frequency counter.
You copy a folder.
The Integration Service resets the schedule for all workflows in the folder.
You choose a different Integration Service to run a workflow.
The Integration Service resets the schedule for the workflow if it is unscheduled or is scheduled to run continuously but the start time has passed. You must reschedule the workflow if the start time is passed and the workflow is not scheduled to run continuously.
You recycle the Integration Service or enable it in normal mode.
The Integration Service resets the schedule for all workflows that are unscheduled or are scheduled to run continuously but the start time has passed. If a workflow is not configured to run on service initialization, you must reschedule it if the start time is passed and it is not scheduled to run continuously. If a workflow is configured to run on service initialization, you do not need to reschedule it.
You enable the Integration Service in safe mode.
In safe mode, workflows remain scheduled, but the Integration Service does not run them, including workflows that are scheduled to run continuously or run on service initialization.
A workflow becomes suspended.
A workflow can become suspended when you configure it to suspend on error. The Integration Service removes a suspended workflow from the schedule and it maintains the state of operation. You can recover a suspended workflow to restore the schedule.
A workflow fails.
To re-establish the schedule, you can reschedule the workflow. In a highly available domain, if you restart the workflow, and the workflow succeeds, the Integration Service restores the scheduled state and determines whether a scheduled run was missed.
A workflow stops or aborts.
To re-establish the schedule, you can recover or reschedule the workflow. If the domain is not highly available, the Integration Service resets the schedule. If the domain is highly available, the Integration Service restores the schedule. If you restart the workflow, and the workflow succeeds, the Integration Service restores the scheduled state and determines whether a scheduled run was missed.
A workflow terminates.
The Integration Service terminates all running workflows when it shuts down unexpectedly. If the domain is not highly available, the Integration Service resets the schedule when you reschedule the workflow. If the domain is highly available, and the workflow is recoverable, you can recover the workflow to restore the scheduled state. If the workflow is not recoverable, you can reset the schedule by rescheduling the workflow. If you restart the workflow, and the workflow succeeds, the Integration Service restores the scheduled state and determines whether a scheduled run was missed.
If you manually start a failed, terminated, stopped, or aborted workflow in a highly available domain, Informatica recommends that you unschedule it first. If you do not unschedule the workflow, and the Integration Service detects that the scheduled run time was missed, it immediately runs the workflow again. This can result in errors such as key violations and invalid data. When you unschedule the workflow first and reschedule it after the manual run completes, the Integration Service does not run the workflow based on the missed schedule.