Table of Contents

Search

  1. Preface
  2. Workflow Manager
  3. Workflows and Worklets
  4. Sessions
  5. Session Configuration Object
  6. Tasks
  7. Sources
  8. Targets
  9. Connection Objects
  10. Validation
  11. Scheduling and Running Workflows
  12. Sending Email
  13. Workflow Monitor
  14. Workflow Monitor Details
  15. Session and Workflow Logs
  16. Session Properties Reference
  17. Workflow Properties Reference

General Options

General Options

General options control tool behavior, such as whether or not a tool retains its view when you close it, how the Overview window behaves, and where the Workflow Manager stores workspace files.
The following table describes general options you can configure in the Workflow Manager:
Option
Description
Reload Tasks/Workflows When Opening a Folder
Reloads the last view of a tool when you open it. For example, if you have a workflow open when you disconnect from a repository, select this option so that the same workflow appears the next time you open the folder and Workflow Designer. Default is enabled.
Ask Whether to Reload the Tasks/Workflows
Appears when you select Reload tasks/workflows when opening a folder. Select this option if you want the Workflow Manager to prompt you to reload tasks, workflows, and worklets each time you open a folder. Default is disabled.
Delay Overview Window Pans
By default, when you drag the focus of the Overview window, the focus of the workbook moves concurrently. When you select this option, the focus of the workspace does not change until you release the mouse button. Default is disabled.
Arrange Workflows/Worklets Vertically By Default
Arranges tasks in workflows vertically by default. Default is disabled.
Allow Invoking In-Place Editing Using the Mouse
By default, you can press F2 to edit objects directly in the workspace instead of opening the Edit Task dialog box. Select this option so you can also click the object name in the workspace to edit the object. Default is disabled.
Open Editor When a Task Is Created
Opens the Edit Task dialog box when you create a task. By default, the Workflow Manager creates the task in the workspace. If you do not enable this option, double-click the task to open the Edit Task dialog box. Default is disabled.
Workspace File Directory
Directory for workspace files created by the Workflow Manager. Workspace files maintain the last task or workflow you saved. This directory should be local to the PowerCenter Client to prevent file corruption or overwrites by multiple users. By default, the Workflow Manager creates files in the PowerCenter Client installation directory.
Display Tool Names on Views
Displays the name of the tool in the upper left corner of the workspace or workbook. Default is enabled.
Always Show the Full Name of Tasks
Shows the full name of a task when you select it. By default, the Workflow Manager abbreviates the task name in the workspace. Default is disabled.
Show the Expression on a Link
Shows the link condition in the workspace. If you do not enable this option, the Workflow Manager abbreviates the link condition in the workspace. Default is enabled.
Show Background in Partition Editor and Pushdown Optimization
Displays background color for objects in iconic view. Disable this option to remove background color from objects in iconic view. Default is disabled.
Launch Workflow Monitor when Workflow Is Started
Launches Workflow Monitor when you start a workflow or a task. Default is enabled.
Receive Notifications from Repository Service
You can receive notification messages in the Workflow Manager and view them in the Output window. Notification messages include information about objects that another user creates, modifies, or deletes. You receive notifications about sessions, tasks, workflows, and worklets. The Repository Service notifies you of the changes so you know objects you are working with may be out of date. For the Workflow Manager to receive a notification, the folder containing the object must be open in the Navigator, and the object must be open in the workspace. You also receive user-created notifications posted by the user who manages the Repository Service. Default is enabled.
Reset All
Reset all format options to the default values.